Home / Poll-08 / 2500 votes – 49 countries – 6 days to vote

2500 votes – 49 countries – 6 days to vote

The fight for “The Orienteering Achievement of 2008″ is very tight in the women class with 6 days to vote. Three women are within around 50 votes – YOUR vote can decide who will win! In the men class, one athlete has taken a larger lead – but nothing is decided until the last vote has been given. Voting for the “The Orienteering Achievement of 2008″ is open from November 28th until December 9th. Please help spreading the news – and give all these great achievements by the worlds finest orienteers their deserved honor!

Nominees “The Orienteering Achievement of 2008″


Men Women
Tero Förh, Finland
Francois Gonon, France
Thierry Gueorgiou, France
Daniel Hubmann, Switzerland
Andrey Khramov, Russia
Anders Nordberg, Norway
Michal Smola, Czech Republic
Jamie Stevenson, Great Britain
Dimitry Tsvektov, Russia
Emil Wingsted, Sweden
Marianne Andersen, Norway
Annika Billstam, Sweden
Dana Brožková, Czech Republic
Radka Brožková, Czech Republic
Anne Margrethe Hausken, Norway
Minna Kauppi, Finland
Helena Jansson, Sweden
Vroni König-Salmi, Switzerland
Merja Rantanen, Finland
Signe Søes, Denmark


The Ultimate Junior Orienteer of 2008: Runesson and Falk

Johan Runesson and Beata Falk – both from Sweden – were named “The Ultimate Junior Orienteer of 2008″ in the mens and womens class, respectively! Runesson took 40% of the votes – nearly twice as many as Timo Sild in second spot. In the womens class it was a lot tighter, Falk taking 33% of the votes compared to 26.7% for Emma Klingenberg in second spot.

The vote was decided by the big international readership of World of O and Ultimate Orienteering – nearly 2000 unique votes from 40 different countries have been delivered, making these results very representative for the worldwide orienteering community. The Swedish Juniors dominated the Junior World Orienteering Champs on home ground in Gothenburg this year – and the dominance was now continued in the “Ultimate Junior Orienteer of 2008″ poll.

Read more in the Press Release about the Ultimate Junior Orienteer of 2008 winners.

Rules and prizes for “The Orienteering Achievement of 2008″

The winner in each category is decided in a vote amongst all the readers of World of O and Ultimate Orienteering. Prizes will be drawn among the voters:

  1. A person can only vote once in each of the categories (if several people share one internet connection, only one can vote, as the IP address is used to identify the voter along with the email-address of the voter).
  2. Among all people voting, 10 prizes (Trimtex Extreme shirts and Trimtex Extreme pants) will be drawn. We would like to thank Trimtex for making available the prizes.
  3. The winners will be made public after the poll closes at World of O and Ultimate Orienteering.
Spread the news

Help making the poll as representative for the international orienteering community as possible! Spread the news about the poll, by publishing an article about the election on your website, and encourage people participating. Please use this link:

Of all websites with on average more than 50 visitors/day who link to the poll after it has been opened for voting, five websites will be drawn who will get a free “Sponsored Link” at either World of O or Ultimate Orienteering. Websites with on average more than 200 visitors/day will count triple when linking to the poll. Send an email to Jan@Kocbach.net with the sites address if you want to be part of this draw for free sponsored links. Sponsored links may be to any orienteering related page or product – must necessarily by the website drawn. Please use one of the following images when linking to the poll:

best_orienteering_300x300.jpg best_orienteering2008_small.jpg

About Jan Kocbach

Jan Kocbach is the founder of WorldofO.com - taking care of everything from site development to writing articles, photography and analysis.

Check Also

Vote for the Orienteering Achievement of 2008!

Voting for the “The Orienteering Achievement of 2008″ has now opened – and will be ...