Home / Orienteering News / EOC Middle: Gold for Niggli – Silver for Søes

EOC Middle: Gold for Niggli – Silver for Søes

Simone Niggli took the gold medal in todays EOC Middle – but Signe Søes was probably even more happy for her Silver medal. In third Lena Eliasson.

Danish Signe Søes has been getting closer and closer to the medals in WOC and EOC the last years – and this season was supposed to be Signe Søes season where she should take the step up to the medals. However, a long-lasting injury made the expectations ahead of the EOC a lot lower – and therefore Søes is probably the one of the happiest women in the start field today…

Comments from the runners

Simone Niggli, 6th EOC Gold medal: – I am very happy. I know that I have the speed for the medal, but today it was a though race. It was very hot. I didn’t feel that well while running. But I just thought “never give up”. I heard from my coach that I had a lead of one minute, but I knew that Minna Kauppi started one minute behind me, but I hadn’t heard anything about it. This is my 6th gold medal in the European Champs.

Signe Søes, Silver (first championships medal): – It is unbelievable. I was really, really tired in the last start. I had a really good technical race, and I had control over the race. I do not have the same speed, but I knew that if I had a good race, I good fight with the best.

Lena Eliasson, Bronze: – I really feel like a winner today. I felt very calm before start. All the way to the spectator control I felt like I could really fight for the gold. Then I did some mistakes in the end. I was caught in the green. And I made a 30 second mistake in the end. I made a really good race, and today I was a bit lucky that the others did not make a perfect race.

Karolina A Höjsgaard ruptured her Achilles tendon during the race, and her career may be over.

Results – Women (unofficial)
1 Simone Niggli sui 98:00 04:35 13:13 22:59 31:12 33:07
2 Signe Soes den 90:00 05:05 14:17 24:18 33:05 35:06
3 Lena Eliasson swe 92:00 04:34 13:47 23:29 33:21 35:19
4 Helena Jansson swe 82:00 04:50 13:59 24:43 33:29 35:24
5 Minna Kauppi fin 100:00 05:31 14:26 23:50 33:40 35:49
6 Vroni Koenig-Salmi sui 94:00 05:00 14:50 24:31 33:52 36:04
7 Dana Brozkova cze 88:00 07:00 16:14 26:19 35:06 37:08
8 Merja Rantanen fin 84:00 04:54 14:47 25:31 34:56 37:10
9 Natalia Vinogradova rus 96:00 05:40 15:40 25:43 35:31 37:38
10 Aija Skrastina lat 76:00 06:04 15:42 26:23 35:33 37:41

About Jan Kocbach

Jan Kocbach is the founder of WorldofO.com - taking care of everything from site development to writing articles, photography and analysis.

Check Also


EOC Sprint 2023: Maps, Results and Analysis

Matthias Kyburz (Switzerland) and Sara Hagström (Sweden) won the European Championships (EOC) Sprint in the ...