Home / Orienteering News / World Cup Qualification: Sweden and Switzerland dominate

World Cup Qualification: Sweden and Switzerland dominate

[Updated with map] Lena Eliasson (Sweden) and Matthias Kyburz (Switzerland) won the Qualification in the first World Cup race in Turkey today. A fast middle distance with less than 25 minutes winning time was on the program. With only 30 runners qualifying for the A-final, some top runners missed the cut.

– A great experience, it was such a challenge today

Like in the World Cup opening in New Zealand in 2013, the Swiss and Swedish runners dominate the qualification. In the men’s class 9 of the 10 best are from either Switzerland or Sweden – with Matthias Kyburz winning 19 seconds ahead of Martin Hubmann (Switzerland) with William Lind (Sweden) in third.

In the women’s class double Sweden: Lena Eliasson ahead of Helena Jansson – with Russian Svatlana Mironova in third.

– A great experience, it was such a challenge today, Helena Jansson said after her race. Jansson is back in the World Cup circuit after injury problems last year.

(The article continues below the map)
mapwcqual

Boström, Föhr, Kerschbaumer out

With only 30 runners qualifying for the A-final and up to 6 runners from each country, some top runners did not manage the cut for the A-final. Notably outside the Top 30 in the men’s class were Mårten Boström (DSQ, see his Tweet below), Pasi Ikonen (DSQ), Tero Föhr, Gernot Kerschbaumer, Raffael Huber, Øystein Kvaal Østerbø, Rasmus Thrane Hansen, Timo Sild, Pavlo Ushkvarok.

In the women’s class Celine Dodin, Emma Klingenberg, Julia Gross, Ines Brodmann, Emma Johansson did not qualify for the A-final.

Below you find the results of all qualified runners (note that these are based on unofficial results).

Results men
1 (58) Kyburz, Matthias Switzerland 21:31 11:15:31
2 (27) Hubmann, Martin Switzerland 21:50 +00:19 10:13:50
3 (51) Lind, William Sweden 21:58 +00:27 11:01:58
4 (73) Adamski, Philippe France 22:36 +01:05 11:46:36
4 (24) Öberg, Peter Sweden 22:36 +01:05 10:08:36
6 (55) Hubmann, Daniel Switzerland 22:42 +01:11 11:10:42
7 (60) Bergman, Gustav Sweden 22:43 +01:12 11:20:43
8 (13) Runesson, Johan Sweden 22:52 +01:21 09:46:52
9 (29) Johansson, Fredrik Sweden 23:06 +01:35 10:19:06
10 (4) Rollier, Baptiste Switzerland 23:15 +01:44 09:29:15
11 (39) Kyburz, Andreas Switzerland 23:17 +01:46 10:39:17
12 (40) Kratov, Oleksandr Ukraine 23:22 +01:51 10:41:22
12 (42) Tranchand, Frederic France 23:22 +01:51 10:45:22
14 (69) Bertuks, Edgars Latvia 23:23 +01:52 11:39:23
15 (44) Howald, Florian Switzerland 23:24 +01:53 10:49:24
16 (68) Hertner, Fabian Switzerland 23:29 +01:58 11:37:29
17 (57) Leandersson, Jonas Sweden 23:30 +01:59 11:15:30
18 (54) Lakanen, Jani Finland 23:33 +02:02 11:09:33
19 (25) Asikainen, Aaro Finland 23:34 +02:03 10:11:34
20 (9) Dahlgren, Filip Sweden 23:35 +02:04 09:39:35
20 (36) Ekeberg, Bjørn Norway 23:35 +02:04 10:33:35
20 (47) Merl, Robert Austria 23:35 +02:04 10:55:35
23 (74) Nikolov, Kiril Bulgaria 23:37 +02:06 11:49:37
24 (1) Siren, Mikko Finland 23:41 +02:10 09:23:41
25 (48) Novikov, Valentin Russia 23:48 +02:17 10:57:48
26 (72) Sirakov, Ivan Bulgaria 23:57 +02:26 11:45:57
27 (20) Lysell, Jerker Sweden 24:04 +02:33 10:02:04
28 (50) Sidorov, Alexey Russia 24:05 +02:34 11:02:05
29 (77) Lassen, Tue Denmark 24:11 +02:40 11:56:11
29 (23) Portin, Fredric Finland 24:11 +02:40 10:08:11

(Interesting fact: Last starter Tue Lassen qualified with 2 seconds margin)

Results women
Plass St.nr Navn Klubb Sluttid Differanse
1 (152) Eliasson, Lena Sweden 22:28 11:05:28
2 (113) Jansson, Helena Sweden 22:32 +00:04 09:47:32
3 (143) Mironova, Svetlana Russia 23:12 +00:44 10:48:12
4 (137) Alm, Maja Denmark 23:13 +00:45 10:36:13
5 (123) Forsgren, Lilian Sweden 23:18 +00:50 10:08:18
6 (127) Ohlsson, Karolin Sweden 23:27 +00:59 10:16:27
7 (154) Chataing, Amelie France 23:33 +01:05 11:10:33
8 (138) Bjørgul, Ida Marie Norway 23:52 +01:24 10:38:52
9 (158) Volynska, Nadiya Ukraine 24:02 +01:34 11:19:02
10 (155) Vinogradova, Galina Russia 24:10 +01:42 11:13:10
11 (153) Fincke, Anni-Maija Finland 24:11 +01:43 11:09:11
12 (106) Luescher, Sara Switzerland 24:13 +01:45 09:35:13
13 (147) Alexandersson, Tove Sweden 24:17 +01:49 10:57:17
13 (126) Jenzer, Sarina Switzerland 24:17 +01:49 10:15:17
15 (115) Haajanen, Sofia Finland 24:19 +01:51 09:53:19
16 (132) Temyakova, Nina Russia 24:21 +01:53 10:27:21
17 (148) Friederich, Rahel Switzerland 24:26 +01:58 10:59:26
18 (151) Niemi, Venla Finland 24:31 +02:03 11:05:31
18 (128) Novikova, Julia Russia 24:31 +02:03 10:19:31
20 (156) Wyder, Judith Switzerland 24:34 +02:06 11:15:34
21 (146) Kadan, Ursula Austria 24:43 +02:15 10:55:43
22 (157) Strand, Lina Sweden 24:46 +02:18 11:17:46
23 (141) Kinni, Saila Finland 24:47 +02:19 10:45:47
24 (107) Olsson, Alva Sweden 24:52 +02:24 09:37:52
25 (139) Panchenko, Olga Ukraine 24:56 +02:28 10:41:56
26 (145) Kutkaite, Ausrine Lithuania 25:10 +02:42 10:54:10
27 (159) Hauswirth, Sabine Switzerland 25:12 +02:44 11:22:12
28 (142) Orr, Hollie Great Britain 25:23 +02:55 10:48:23
29 (136) Basset, Isia France 25:25 +02:57 10:36:25
30 (149) Tikhonova, Anastasiya Russia 25:31 +03:03 11:02:31

About Jan Kocbach

Jan Kocbach is the founder of WorldofO.com - taking care of everything from site development to writing articles, photography and analysis.

Check Also

jwoc_2016_middlef_w20a_2500

JWOC 2016 Middle: Maps and Results

Another Swiss day at the Junior World Orienteering Championship at the middle distance: Gold for ...